Power(less)

I’m just the intern here, nothing to see
I don’t have the answers when you ask me
How does one drop a case
Of domestic battery

Your bruises make me uncomfortable
As I direct you to my boss
Your boyfriend outside makes me uncomfortable
Because he doesn’t look very lost

I forget it all in the busy turn of time
A pedicure with sisters just the thing to ease the mind

But when you sit down to wash my feet, I begin to cry
Hold in your hand purple nail polish
The same colors of your eyes

I don’t speak your language
And you don’t speak mine
But if looks could kill, I’d tell you I’d still

Be adding bruises to his face
And I don’t even know your name
And I don’t know if you’d even want my help

And I haven’t seen you since
But I’m haunted by your busted lip
And your dark, resigned eyes


What do you think?